One Hundred Days of Happy! {4.1.14}

20140401-225519.jpg

Ok here I go..
I don’t know where this came from or why, but it feels like a calling of some sort.. I just feel like I need to do this. All of this!!

Out of the blue late Sunday night, I was scrolling through Facebook, like I always do, for hours, every day, and it started to make me feel sick! It was almost midnight and I decided then and there to take a break from Facebook. Not forever, of course, but just to see how long I could go. My goal is to reevaluate my usage, and my need for a ‘Facebook fix’. I do enjoy many social media outlets, including Pinterest and Instagram, but I was feeling like Facebook was sucking the life out of me. I’d complain about not having time in my day for things, but I was just wasting the time away on my phone all day long! I feel that if I rid Facebook from my phone for a while them maybe I’ll enjoy my moments, in the moment, instead of worrying about posting about it.

I will use it again, for sure, I’m just honestly enjoying this break from it. It feels freeing! It feels like I don’t have to care about anyone else! Let me rephrase that- it’s not that I don’t care about my friends.. But I have my own thoughts and responsibilities and just a lot inmy own head. Reading post after post sometimes is overwhelming! It’s everyone’s thoughts! Everyone I’ve ever met, or ever known, everywhere, at all times. I never felt this way when I was checking it constantly. But being away for 2 days comes with a sense of a weight being lifted off my shoulders. It’s crazy!

Through Instagram I kept seeing the hashtag #100happydays. So I googled it. Basically you focus on happy things each day, for 100 days, and snap a picture of one. I fell in love with the idea and immediately signed up online! The whole 100 Happy Days got me thinking.. Lots of things make me happy! Multiple times a day! Then another thought, maybe I can break up with Facebook for 100 days? That’ll make me happy! Then another thought… there are many healthy habits that I wish I had, maybe I could try to do those for 100 days? I’m the type to give up everything I start. No matter how hard I try, I never follow through. I hate this about myself. So.. What the hell!? Why not!? It can only lead to happiness and maybe I can establish some good solid habits from it!

Here are my 100 Day’s goals:
100 Days without pop. Trying to get back into drinking water like I used to.

100 Days of flossing. I’m a random flosser. Ill go a few days then stop. Another day, then days without. Ugh.
I’m already on Day 3!

100 Days of working out! I don’t care if it’s 15 crunches one day or a 5k another, I just need to move my body every day, in some way!!

100 Days without Facebook. On Day 2! I know, this is nuts! I’m still going to be sharing pictures on Facebook through my Instagram, but I will not be logging in to browse or post.

100 Days of reading to my Brynlee. She deserves this!

100 Happy Days. Snapping a happy picture daily and sharing on Instagram.

And…. 100 Days of logging it all! I need to keep track somewhere!

🙂 Eeekk! Super pumped!

Wish me luck!

Here was my today:

Day 2 without Facebook
Day 3 of flossing before bed
Day 1 #100HappyDays
Tyler’s first time swinging 🙂

20140401-224024.jpg

Ok, I need sleep. Gotta go!
💋Leanna

20140401-225717.jpg

4 thoughts on “One Hundred Days of Happy! {4.1.14}

  1. I think this is a wonderful idea Leanna! If nothing else, after 100 days you can look back knowing you spent 100 days of finding happiness. It seems like a solid investment of your time! Good luck!

    If you’re anything like me, I start strong and peter out. Perhaps start moderately strong and save some for the final stretch. Rather than creating a blog entry every day, my recommendation would be to only create ones on the days you feel motivated to. Record your happy thoughts elsewhere, perhaps a journal and on a day you’re like “Gosh I really want to share my happiness with other” – you have a treasure to pull from. And if like me, you get bogged down in the day to day tedium of keeping up on things, this allows you to continue keeping up with this fantastic idea without boring yourself with the day to day details of it.

    • Fantastic idea! I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to enter in one every day. I have on from last night in draft form but I’m sick now and was too pooped to finish it! I was thinking about it today and thinking maybe a weekly recap!

      Also, I’m the same way! I’m awesome for 2 weeks then crap out.. I’m hopeful though!! 🙂

      • It sounds like you have a good sense of self (already reviewing your choice to blog daily). Stay true to what works for you.

        The approach I’ve taken to my blog is to write and draw when the feeling takes me. I don’t ever sit down with the intention of creating something in particular. Some life event occurs and I will feel the strong need to share the lesson I learned, or I get the urge to pick up my pencil to scribble. This leaves the blog feeling free and open rather than bogged down with more rules and restrictions to keep up on. But that’s what works for me. I’m hopeful you’ve found what works for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

