All because of a little prayer…

20140314-101759.jpg

Four years ago this month, began a chain of events in my heart and in my life that I will forever be grateful for. I was a slave to my selfishness; I lived my life for just me. I was being young and having too much fun for my own good. I needed a big slice of humble pie.
I remember feeling lost one night while laying in bed, too restless to sleep. So i began to pray. I prayed to be shown what direction to take in my life. I prayed for a wake up call; a new life. Immediately God began to work in my life, but not how I expected it. Looking back, it was all part of His mysterious, master plan.
That month, literally days later, while driving to a friends house for a party, bottle of vodka in the front seat (unopened, don’t worry!), a deer jumped out and hit me. It destroyed my driver-side door, mirror, bumper, and headlight. I was already behind on payments and chose to use what money I had to pay the $500 deductible. I had no money left to pay up on my car payments. I was working my butt off to save up. Everything began spiraling downhill so fast! Days after that I was fired from my job for complaining on Facebook about a bad tip (or lack of tip) that I received from an old classmate who came into eat dinner with her family… (I know, stupid.) My relationship with my boyfriend was the worst it had ever been, and I had come down with a severe case of bronchitis. The very next day while at home making lunch, I hear a funny noise outside the front window. I run over to see the tail end of my car being lifted up by a tow-truck. It was being repossessed.
…. There I sat.
Alone.
In a mountain of debt.
Jobless.
Sick.
No car.
Nowhere to go…
….so I went to church.

That morning the auditorium was packed with people as usual. But I felt as if Ted (our pastor) was speaking only to me. Every word he spoke fit my life at that time perfectly.

He read Deuteronomy, chapter 8. It was about being humbled. About leaving you out in the wilderness for 40 years and testing your heart. How your shoes and clothes never wore out; how He causes you to hunger but teaches you to not live on bread alone but with the word of God.
I felt every word of this. I felt as though I was left with nothing. I had NOTHING. But I knew I was going to be ok. I trusted in Him to lead my way. I kept praying..

{{2 Remember how the Lord your God led you all the way in the wilderness these forty years, to humble and test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands. 3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord. 4 Your clothes did not wear out and your feet did not swell during these forty years. 5 Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the Lord your God disciplines you.}}

My life immediately turned around. By the end of March, I started a new job, that paid better than any had in the past. By April, I got a new car (thanks mom!) and was finally able to keep up on my payments. I also found a way to consolidate my debt. …oh, and that bronchitis cleared up just fine from the powerful antibiotics that I got. Funny thing about antibiotics though; they alter the efficacy of birth control…

{{6 Observe the commands of the Lord your God, walking in obedience to him and revering him. 7 For the Lord your God is bringing you into a good land—a land with brooks, streams, and deep springs gushing out into the valleys and hills; 8 a land with wheat and barley, vines and fig trees, pomegranates, olive oil and honey; 9 a land where bread will not be scarce and you will lack nothing; a land where the rocks are iron and you can dig copper out of the hills.}}

{April showers bring may flowers}
May 5… I peed on a stick. Brynlee Jo Hume was my most precious gift out of it all. God knew what I needed before I even did. He gave her to me and I am beyond grateful for the series of events that led to her creation.
Today, 4 years later I sit… never alone again! Haha!
I have 2 beautiful, healthy, thriving children. A man who loves me more than I ever thought possible. Bryan has changed in ways I am amazed! He is NOT the same guy who kept breaking my heart a few years ago. He is incredible, and makes my heart smile every, single day! We have a house (with a pool! haha), he has a good job, and my debt is nearly entirely gone. We are perfectly content and happy.. And BLESSED to the core!

{{10 When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you. 11 Be careful that you do not forget the Lord your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees that I am giving you this day. 12 Otherwise, when you eat and are satisfied, when you build fine houses and settle down, 13 and when your herds and flocks grow large and your silver and gold increase and all you have is multiplied, 14 then your heart will become proud and you will forget the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.}}

I will never forget what God has done for me. I may not be the perfect Christian. I’m more of a progressive/liberal Christian if there even is such a thing.. I may not shout His praises from the rooftops and to anyone and everyone who can hear it, daily.. But I DO praise Him and share with those who I feel need to hear it. I am praising Him now and sharing it with all of you, today. I will never be too proud. I will never forget how low I felt and how His magic continues to touch my heart.
Prayer is powerful. God is powerful. He truly works in mysterious ways.. If you let him! If you feel a little lost, just speak to him. He will move in ways you could not imagine! You just have to open your heart to all of His possibilities. Let me tell you, it’s a beautiful thing.

One day, when Brynlee asks me how she came to be I will tell her this story. But until she’s old enough to understand, I will simply tell her this:

20140314-103152.jpg

Four years ago, I said a little prayer. I asked for help. Today, all my dreams are coming true! I’ve never been happier and I’m excited to see what more of this beautiful life God has planned for me.

❤Leanna

Ps..
God is also funny. Just as I was about to publish this, Brynlee cuddles up to me and begs me to read her this:

20140314-104729.jpg

I love receiving His little signs and messages❤

Leave a Reply

