$ave money! Bulk up your beef!

20140307-143052.jpg

I’ve been trying to think of ways to save money on food. Meat is expensive but it is a staple in our household. Occasionally we do a meatless Monday but I’m finding that it’s rather limiting (because of my family’s taste buds) and I don’t end up saving as much money as I’d like.

I, of course, was browsing my beloved Pinterest today and I came across a photo of vegetarian black bean burgers. It got me thinking… Vegetarians make entire meals out of beans, why not mix the two ideas!?? I can add beans to any ground beef recipe and stretch the meat cost! Brilliant!
{I’m fully aware this idea is not new, but it’s new to me and I’m excited to implement it in my cooking}

Now Bryan likes beans but isn’t a huge fan so I’m going to start out by adding little by little until he notices (haha!) I could probably get away with a good 33% replacement, maybe even up to half! Saving 50% on ground beef costs is a huge saving! Plus, beans are high in protein, low in cost, and are plentiful in health benefits!

The possibilities are endless! Black beans, pinto beans, garbanzo beans, and more! Mash them up with a potato masher and add them in!! If you are not a bean fan, add just a little to see if you even notice the taste. If it’s not something you’d even consider, you can bulk up your beef with rice instead. Bulk up meatloaf, sloppy joes, taco meat, burgers, chili (just by adding more variety of whole beans and reducing beef). You can also eliminate the beef altogether and make bean balls {*giggle*}, and black bean burgers. And it doesn’t stop at just beans! You can add veggies too! If you’re family is picky just use a food processor or mince up carrots, celery, zucchini, squash (butternut, spaghetti, yellow, acorn), sweet potatoes, peepers, onions… Anything!! I found a recipe for sweet potato black bean burgers that looks incredible!!!
They won’t even notice and you get the double satisfaction of saving money while nourishing your family.

Tonight I’ll be making meatballs with black beans. They will freeze well, so I’ll make a double batch and have a quick freezer meal ready for another dinner!

I’m crossing my fingers it turns out! Wish me luck!!
I hope I’ve inspired someone else out there to try it too!!

Enjoy!
💋Leanna

4 thoughts on “$ave money! Bulk up your beef!

  1. I just saw a thing on some talk show where they made meatloaf with half beef and half chopped up mushrooms. I’ve been wanting to try it… but I love me some black beans, too. Great idea!

  2. I have found that sweet potato works best. Cheaper even than beans or mushrooms and easy to grate into the beef (I grate it with skin and all because of the added fiber). I have tried lentils in the past, which worked well but it had to cook very long and you could detect a difference in taste. Unlike regular potatoes or anything else, you don’t notice the sweet potato at all – I have been doing it for over a month now and my husband hasn’t noticed it until today when I told him about it. He agrees that it actually enhances the taste of the beef. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

