Paleo Sweet Potato & Cinnamon Hashbrowns

20131203-002539.jpg

I LOVE eating Paleo/Primal/Grain-Free!! I truly believe it’s exactly how are bodies were made to eat. This is something that I could honestly write a book about and have never really shared with my blog world friends.. Embarrassingly, it’s because I don’t practice what I preach. In this world, in my home, for me personally… It’s a hard diet to change to. I’ve TRIED!
Anyway, keeping it simple. It’s very healthy to keep your blood sugars low and stable so you don’t retain body fat. Carbohydrates (which are glorified chains of SUGAR) found in ‘white foods’ such as bread, cereal, bagels, pasta & other foods spike up your insulin levels and cause you to crave more carbs and sugar and keep you fat. Sugars makes us fat, not fat!

…look at me getting ahead of myself…
I guess it boils down to this. I believe in whole, REAL foods.
I wanted to make these for breakfast to change things up a bit from the egg routine. I’m not full on Paleo -yet!! But I’m slowly incorporating those foods and ideas into my diet more and trying very hard to avoid the bad stuff. I’m also realistic and my favorite food is spaghetti so…. yeah, that’s never going to change and even if I end up treating myself once a week or month, I’m ok with that!

Ahhhhh! Now for the damn recipe:

Seriously SO simple and delicious!

Shred up one sweet potato.

20131203-001941.jpg
Add one egg to bind and as much cinnamon as you’d like!

20131203-002404.jpg

Pull out your coconut oil {healthy FAT!!!}

20131203-002118.jpg
Heat up oil in a pan and drop spoonfuls of your mixture into the hot oil.

20131203-002310.jpg
Smash flat with a fork and crisp on both sides for about 4 minutes.
Drain and ENJOY!!

20131203-002716.jpg
Hope you love them as much as I did!
❤Leanna

Leave a Reply

