The Fabulous Frugal Fryer Chicken

whole-roasted-chicken

 

The whole chicken is incredible. The possibilities are endless. Buying a whole chicken is probably the greatest frugal thing on the planet. They are so inexpensive, EASY to cook, and provide endless leftovers. They literally pay for themselves!

Sunday I made a whole chicken and vegetables. Ok, if I’m gonna be honest I made the vegetables. Being nearly 9 months pregnant and short on time, I just did not have it in me to make one. 97% of the time, I do! So I had my mom run down to the store and buy a pre-roasted family sized one. It was about 8 buck buck bucks! {he he} …Which is just about what I would have spent on a raw one. Per pound, the raw ones are always a better deal, but I paid for convenience.

So, here’s how I make my whole birds.
I purchase the whole fryer chickens, anywhere from 5 to 8lbs, and never pay more than $10… er, buck buck bucks! {I can’t contain myself} I typically like to pay no more than .99c per pound.

Preheat oven to 400•
Rinse the bird in cold water and pat dry with a paper towel.
I love butter. Real, wholesome, comforting butter. I melt a couple tablespoons along with some minced garlic, herbs, whatever I feel like in the moment… and salt and pepper. I give the chicken a good rub down making sure to get under the skin and all over.

Feel free to roll and cut up a lemon or two to place inside!

Now for your side dish. You could make anything, its that versatile.

  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Scalloped Potatoes
  • Rissoto
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Roasted Vegetables

I prefer to roast the vegetables right along with the chicken. The juices from the chicken cook into the vegetables giving them an incredible, rich flavor.

I use any and all veggies. Potatoes are a must every time. I like red skinned, yukons, and crimson golds the best. Interchangeably I’ll use fresh green beans, brussle sprouts, carrots, zucchini, squash, or any combination of these. I had a friend give me some zucchini from her garden last week, so this time I used that along with potatoes and carrots. Some veggies take longer than others to cook, so cut them accordingly. Carrots for instance take FOREVER, so I will cut the potatoes and zucchini thicker so they don’t wither away while we wait for the carrots to get soft.

veg

I toss the veggies in melted butter, salt, pepper, garlic, dill, and dried onion flakes.

Place them in a baking dish, put the bird on top, and bake at 400* for a half hour. Then, reduce the temp to 325 and cook for an additional 15 minutes per pound.

(You can tweak the placement and arrangement of the veggies and chicken to make Beer Butt Chicken too. Recipe coming SOON}

beer butt

Beer Butt Chicken

 

When juices run clear in the inner thigh, you are good!
Always allow the chicken to rest for a few minutes after cooking. This allows for the juices to settle and it will stay moist! If you cut too soon they will drain out.

I wish I had more pictures but I will add them next time I make it, which will be VERY soon!

This meal is so amazing simply on its own. But it gets even better!!! Leftovers! From the meat, to the veggies, and even the carcass… you can use it all! With ONE chicken, I can make stock, and 2-3 more meals, depending on size. I cannot stress enough how much money you will save by purchasing whole chickens.

{I will be updating with links to the following recipe ideas as I make them.  Well,  I’ve made them all before, but never with pictures to post}

  • Easy Crockpot Chicken & Dumplings
  • Chicken Stock
  • Chicken Crescent Rolls
  • Chicken Enchiladas
  • Chicken and Rice Casserole
  • Chicken Quesadilla’s
  • Chicken Taco’s
  • Chicken Noodle Soup
  • Chicken & Dumplings
  • Pulled BBQ Chicken Sandwiches
  • Chicken Salad on Croissants
  • BBQ Chicken pizza

…and SO much more to come!  Feel free to comment more ideas if you are a frugal chicken kinda gal too! I’m always looking for more ideas.

ENJOY!

♥ Leanna

Leave a Reply

