Homemade Glass Ornament

20121218-130451.jpg

I finally shipped this out to my good friend Leah! She married the man of her dreams last spring and I’ve been patiently waiting for the glass bulbs to hit the craft stores to finish this gift for her.

This gift is spectacular! It is because the possibilities of what you can put inside are endless! This is a gift that’s super thoughtful, very easy on the wallet, and will be a life-long memory on a loved one’s Christmas tree every year!

You can fill the inside with anything you can imagine. I just saw this idea on pinterest that I just LOVED!

20121218-130427.jpg
Your child’s beanie and hospital bracelet! How darling!?

I’ve also seen them with the wine cork and other mementos from your wedding day.

The one I made for Leah was simple. It was her invitation cut into strips, line by line- some even blank strips.

20121218-131141.jpg

I curled them around a pen, and dropped them inside the bulb.

20121218-131244.jpg

20121218-131453.jpg
The bulbs I purchased came in packs of two at the craft store {Pat Catans} for like $6…? I think… I can’t really remember to honest. haha!

Her colors were charcoal and ivory. I purchased ribbing to match. Her invitation actually had a charcoal ribbon on top so that strip was my favorite 🙂 You can see it in some of the pics!
I also added some pearl accent beads as well.

20121218-131357.jpg
Then I put on the top and threaded some more ribbon and pearls through the top so she can hang it on her tree.

20121218-131645.jpg
I’m so excited for her to get this!!! To be quite frank, shipping it off to Montana cost more than the gift itself! -Haha! I’m hoping it will arrive before Christmas! I’ve been sick and got way behind on … everything! I’m not even sure if I’ll be able to make and send our out cards this year 😦
Well my loves, I hope I’ve inspired you!! Now get to gift making! These are the gifts people will cherish for a lifetime.
💋Leanna

One thought on “Homemade Glass Ornament

  1. What an awesome idea! I put legos in one for my nephew. I need to do a post about all the ornaments I made this year. None of them were as special as yours though! That’s one they’ll cherish forever!

Leave a Reply

