2am Crockpot Applesauce

It’s 2:52am and the house already smells heavenly!
I wanted to make apple butter and since I’ve only ever made and canned strawberry jam {once}, I googled around for some recipes. It’s fall and nearing Thanksgiving and apples are abundant to say the least. I wish so badly I had taken advantage of the apple picking of October so the grocery store variety Red Delicious will do this year. Anyway, google surprised me by saying that a good apple butter begins with jarred applesauce. Seriously? My heart was set on the fresh, juicy, and crisp-real apples!!! I decided to make my own 🙂
why not?

Now let me begin by apologizing for how not-so-put-together this post may seem since I’m writing this, for one thing, several days after making the applesauce, and two- I’m on day 6 of being psychotically busy/exhausted.

Ok let’s get to saucin’ those apples!
What I used:
Crockpot- I have a humongous crockpot! I’d guess it’s a 6 quart?? I’m not positive but that sounds right to me.
Apples- I purchased 3, 3lb bags of red delicious. You can use a blend if you’d like to play around with favors, I chose RD because they were the cheapest-haha! …and because they are perfectly sweet & I love the beautiful blush color the skins give the sauce.
Brown Sugar- optional
Cinnamon-optional
Vanilla-optional
Lemon Juice
You can most definitely leave out all sugar & spice and it will still turn out nice. Especially if you chose sweet apples! Brynlee & I love cinnamon so that’s why I chose to add them.

First things first…
Because its the middle of the night & I’m still having a mid-twenties-crisis..
Pour yourself some wine!
this is a lovely Cabernet called If You See Kay… get it? get it? lol

20121126-083840.jpg
side note: someone tell me they can relate! … I remember the first weeks when we brought miss bryn home from the hospital.. we’d go to bed so early {let’s not kid, I was on her schedule so I was never ‘going to bed’} but anyway-I’d wake up every hour or two to feed her and it would be 1am and I would sit there with this beautiful newborn attached to my boob and I would just get lost thinking about how absurd & surreal it felt with this baby attached to my boob, while all my friends were at the bar… crazy sauce..
APPLESAUCE!

Rinse your apples!
Chop them up!

20121126-084039.jpg
If you’d prefer to save yourself from having to sieve at the end, you can peel them prior to putting them in the crockpot. I don’t have a peeler plus I like the color the skins produce, so I left mine on.

Toss in crockpot.

20121126-084516.jpg
My crockpot held 3 apples shy of 3lbs. About 25 apples.

{EDIT 9.2014: I now have a nifty contraption that peels, slices, and cores! This is WAY easier than the chopping and sieve method. I highly recommended investing in one!}
image

Next add in your sugar & spice & everything nice.

20121126-085230.jpg
1cup of water
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 Tablespoon Lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
{let me get real with you for a minute- I never measure anything! ever. A sprinkle here, a dash there… always turns out delicious! So think about what you like and add it!}

20121126-085815.jpg
Never realized how gross my crockpot was {or wall for that matter}, until I took this picture.. don’t judge.

Cook on low for 4-6 hours. I left mine in for 7 and it was fine. This is what I woke up to…

20121126-090132.jpg
Give it a stir!

20121126-090219.jpg
If you peeled the apples, simply mash to your preferred chunky-ness, if you like it smooth, sieve or purée.
If you left them on, you need to sieve. I spooned mine in the sieve a couple cups at a time and smooshed it through with a large spoon.

20121126-090547.jpg

Every once in a while I’d take a separate spoon {you don’t want any skins getting in the sauce} and scrape the bottom of the sieve off to help things along.

20121126-090726.jpg
Mash through until your left with only
skins.

20121126-090816.jpg
Repeat until your left with a beautiful applesauce!

20121126-090912.jpg
ENJOY! 💋Leanna

COMING SOON:
I’ll update and link a ‘how to’ on canning. Also, an apple butter recipe from this sauce, strawberry jam, & cranberry sauce!

20121126-091838.jpg

Leave a Reply

