Homemade hand soap, body wash, & baby wash

20121025-101816.jpg

Helloooooo everyone!
As promised, I’m making some homemade liquid soap from bar soap today! Its so simple, takes less than a half hour, and will save you TONS of money!!
Here’s what you need:

20121025-094025.jpg
•Any bar soap that you want- an antibacterial for your hands, Dove or Ivory, or any yummy scented one for a body wash, or 2 bars of a baby bar for baby wash. Anywhere from $1-$5 depending on brand, how many in a pack, sales, etc.
•1tablespoon of Glycerin, I purchased mine at rite aid for $6
•Old soap pump, bottle, container.
•10 cups of water

First things first.

20121025-095040.jpgMake scrambled eggs for your child.

20121025-095136.jpgFeed said child.

20121025-095213.jpgGrate soap. I chopped mine thinking it would melt just the same but it took a loooooong time to melt so I highly recommend grating or blending or food processing.

20121025-100158.jpgClean scrambled eggs off of the floor.

20121025-100320.jpgLet child draw on your pants.

20121025-100407.jpgDistract child with a cement truck outside.
….

My bar was 4oz and yielded approximately 1cup.

20121025-095435.jpgDump soap into pot, add 10 cups of water…

20121025-095542.jpg
Add 1 tablespoon of glycerine.

20121025-095642.jpg
Gently stir frequently on medium-high heat until soap is completely dissolved.
Remove from heat and let cool completely.
Fill up your containers & enjoy!!!!
💋Leanna

I’m waiting for it to cool now, it’s recommended that you stir while it’s cooling and let it sit for a good 24 hours. I stuck my pot in the fridge & will
update the end result picture as soon as it’s ready.
I’ve also read that different soaps yield different results..
Dove is more moisturizer, less soap
so you may need to double the bar.
Cheaper soaps, like from hotels, dollar stores, etc… also need tweaking: less water, more glycerin.
This is the first time I’ve made this so as soon as I have any hiccups to fix or more tips I will update!!
❤❤❤
UPDATE
This is the soap once it’s been cooled.

20121025-140049.jpgAt first I thought that it was too thick but I stirred it up a while and it thinned out a little. It has a very strange consistency, like lumpy, snot. I think if I had kept a gentle stir for a while the consistency would have improved more. Regardless, l funneled it into an old pump and it’s perfect!!

20121025-140358.jpg
I think this would make a great homemade gift. Find those pretty pumps in the bathroom isle and fill them up with different scents. This would definitely be a $5-$10 gift idea. Perfect for Christmas or even a housewarming present!

20121025-140627.jpgI put the rest of my soap into ziplock bags because I didn’t really have a container to store it in. When it’s time to refill, I’ll just snip the bottom corner and fill up the bottle. I would guess that each bag holds 2 bottles worth. So, for around $1 I made FIVE BOTTLES of hand soap!! That is incredible!!!

4 thoughts on “Homemade hand soap, body wash, & baby wash

  1. I know that the kind of soap you use makes a big difference as to how it sets up. I did not use glycerin when I tried this and mine came out like water. Yet, a friend of mine used the same recipe as me (but a different soap) and hers came out like slime – perfect. Glad to find your site 🙂

    • thank you! I will say since I’ve made it, it’s a little thicker than is like abs it does have a slime like consistency to it… but I think it adds to its ‘homemade’ charm 🙂

  2. Thank you for this! I keep seeing Dove bar soap recipes which they say you need more water for a different brand of soap. I’m looking at making liquid soap out of a high quality facial soap bar. I want to get the most possible for $5 bar of soap and I hate trying to lather it up then put the bar away. Definitely will try!!!

Leave a Reply

