Homemade Laundry Soap

I’m making a ginormous … wow.. my iphone actually recognizes the word ginormous. Is that even a real word?
Anyway… I’m making a ginormous batch of my homemade laundry soap this weekend to divide amongst my friends and I thought I’d share my recipe for those who’d like to save some money and make their own!!

This is what I bought for my quadruple batch.

20121007-234727.jpg
Here is what you will need for one batch.

20121007-234800.jpg
1, 4 lb 12 oz box Borax. I found it in the detergent isle at Giant Eagle.

1, 4 lb box Arm & Hammer Baking Soda. I used generic and found it in the cooking isle at Giant Eagle.

1 box Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda 55 oz. Really hard to find!! I found it in the detergent isle at Walmart.

3 bars of Fels-Naptha Bar Soap. I found it in the bar soap isle at Giant Eagle.

2 small containers of Oxy Clean or store brand Oxy Clean {try to get about 3.5 lbs, this is optional so it doesn’t have to be exact}

1 container of scent crystals. Since this detergent is mild smelling I like to add a scent booster. You can find laundry crystals in the detergent isle.

This soap works in all washers included HE {you may want to grate the bar soap into a finer consistency or simply pour it directly into the drum}, hot water and cold!

Without the scent booster it is similar to dreft, hypoallergenic and non-irritating to sensitive skin.

Everything cost me about $26

Ok here’s what you do:

Start with the hardest, suckiest part-
Grating your Fels-Naptha soap.

I started to use a cheese grater and realized quickly that that was a dumb idea. This part is the only part that sucks. I don’t have a food processor which would be the easiest meathod, so I used a blender. I chopped the bar into tiny chunks and popped them in two at a time until it turned into teeny chips/powder. Did I mention that this part sucks? Those of you with an HE washer may want to make sure it’s super fine.
***EDIT: after making this several times since, the cheese grater is the BEST option! I’m pretty sure I got my hands on some dried our bars of soap, every time since, the bars are soft and relatively easy to grate. I like to sit and watch TV while doing this!

Chop chop chop!

20121007-234916.jpg
Brynlee is mommy’s little helper- scooping the soap into the blender!

20121007-235034.jpg
This is what it looks like before you mix it with the other shit.

20121007-235122.jpg
{Fels-Naptha will dissolve in your washer even if you only use cold water}

Toss all ingredients in the biggest bucket/ container you have. This part makes your whole house smell great and your nose may feel like a crack heads’ after a few minutes. But don’t worry, you wont get too high..
Unless you want to.

Mix it all up and store it in a pretty container 🙂

20121007-235214.jpg

I also up-cycled the scent booster containers by simply peeling off the label. These are a great way to package them up as gifts. They hold 64 loads.

20121007-235508.jpg
This recipe makes 2 gallons of soap or 512 one tablespoon loads.
If my baby or baby daddy is extra messy, I’ll use two tablespoons. I use an old baby formula scoop.. It’s petfect!

20121007-235707.jpg
I know it doesn’t seem like a lot but TRUST ME- this is a concentrated powder and doesn’t contain any fillers that the name brands contain.

If you use one tablespoon per load, washed 5 loads a week, this would last you TWO YEARS!!!
Insane.

Enjoy!!

Please feel free to ask any questions!!!
•••please note that this soap will not produce suds like you may be used to. Dont be alarmed it works amazingly well!!

Just this week I’ve put it to the test on a TON of baby vomit and diarrhea- everything came out so so clean!!!•••

do not use for washing cloth diapers. The baking soda reduces absorbency within the cloth.

Leave a Reply

